Epson 3880 borderless vs w/border printing

Started Mar 30, 2013 | Discussions
Radu Tenenbaum
Senior MemberPosts: 2,849Gear list
Like?
Epson 3880 borderless vs w/border printing
Mar 30, 2013

I'm a 3880 newbie.  I have one on its way and, although I am familiar with and have used the search feature I'll be posting newbie type questions as I can't find the concise answers I seek.

How much ink is wasted on overspray when printing borderless?

Where does that ink go?  Does it just accumulate in sponges and cause a mess over time?

Generally, should I avoid borderless printing if possible?  I have a Rotatrim, so trimming is doable, but still some hassle.

What is the minimum border to prevent the overspray?

A more general question: Can someone point me to a link for a detailed overview of how an inkjet handles ink in all phases of the process that addresses the questions above as well as nozzle checks, cleaning cycles, maintenance cartridge and so on.

Thanks!

-- hide signature --

Radu
www.raduray.com

Radu Tenenbaum's gear list:Radu Tenenbaum's gear list
Nikon D800 Fujifilm X-E1 Nikon AF-S Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR Nikon AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D ED-IF Nikon AF Nikkor 35mm f/2D +17 more
Hugowolf
Forum ProPosts: 11,308
Like?
Re: Epson 3880 borderless vs w/border printing
In reply to Radu Tenenbaum, Mar 30, 2013

Radu Tenenbaum wrote:

I'm a 3880 newbie.  I have one on its way and, although I am familiar with and have used the search feature I'll be posting newbie type questions as I can't find the concise answers I seek.

How much ink is wasted on overspray when printing borderless?

That dpends on the amount of extension you set within the driver.

Where does that ink go?  Does it just accumulate in sponges and cause a mess over time?

Yes, But we are talking about fractions of a millilitre with a printer of a limited lifespan.

Generally, should I avoid borderless printing if possible?