Nex 6 just not sharp?

Started Mar 29, 2013 | Discussions
Geordie27
New MemberPosts: 4
Like?
Nex 6 just not sharp?
Mar 29, 2013

I have been using the Nex 6 with the 15 to 50mm zoom lens for a few months now, but I have found that all the images are just mushy and lack critical sharpness! I am very disapointed.

I used to have a Canon 7d and when I compare these images the Nex 6 doesnt look good while the 7d is pin sharp, but when I use the dpreview comparison page if anything the opposite should be true. I am using jpeg images straight off the camera.

Is it the camera, lens, or do I have a faulty camera?

Canon EOS 7D
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
blue_skies
Senior MemberPosts: 7,039Gear list
Like?
Re: Nex 6 just not sharp?
In reply to Geordie27, Mar 29, 2013

Geordie27 wrote:

I have been using the Nex 6 with the 15 to 50mm zoom lens for a few months now, but I have found that all the images are just mushy and lack critical sharpness! I am very disapointed.

I used to have a Canon 7d and when I compare these images the Nex 6 doesnt look good while the 7d is pin sharp, but when I use the dpreview comparison page if anything the opposite should be true. I am using jpeg images straight off the camera.

Can you post examples, dpreview just commented on the Nex-6 having above average AF.

Also, can you describe your focus method/mode?

-- hide signature --

Cheers,
Henry

blue_skies's gear list:blue_skies's gear list
Canon PowerShot S95 Sony Alpha NEX-7 Sony Alpha NEX-6 Sony Alpha 7 Sony a6000 +30 more
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Mel Snyder
Veteran MemberPosts: 3,602Gear list
Like?

Geordie27 wrote:

Impossible to know without seeing example images. Could be the lens, could be the camera, could be you.