Thinking of swapping from MFT to full DSLR - Advice?

Started Mar 29, 2013 | Discussions
Pebbleheed
Forum MemberPosts: 60Gear list
Like?
Thinking of swapping from MFT to full DSLR - Advice?
Mar 29, 2013

I'm still relatively new to photography. I bought a Panasonic GX1 a short while back and I'm pretty happy with it. I love the small size of it while enjoying using interchangeable lenses. However there are some points that are annoying me.

The main point with the GX1 is that lenses are expensive. I look at my friends with their Canon EOS 550D cameras as they pick up lenses for a fraction of what I pay for MFT lenses. They can in some cases get 2 or 3 lenses for just 1 of mine and to be honest I've not noticed a difference in quality that would justify the price difference.

Secondly is the depth of field. To get decent bokeh type backgrounds on my shots I have to be close up to my subjects. I have to be low down on the aperture. The DSLR cameras appear to be able to beat this in every way without having to get as close and without having to go as low on the aperture.

I enjoy taking my GX1 out with the 14mm pancake lens on to get some street shots, but when it comes to other shots such as macro or portrait I'm feeling a little let down to be honest. I'm starting to wonder if it's time to trade the GX1 in and go for a 550D in it's place?

Anyone else feel a little cheated on the MFT lens prices?

I accept that the small size we enjoy has to have let downs in other areas, but I'm trying to make up my mind to see if I can live with a little bigger a camera to get more benefits of a full DSLR.

Pebbleheed's gear list:Pebbleheed's gear list
Nikon D7100 Tamron SP AF 17-50mm F/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical (IF) Tamron SP 70-300mm F/4-5.6 Di VC USD Adobe Photoshop CS6 onOne Perfect Photo Suite +7 more
Canon EOS 550D (EOS Rebel T2i / EOS Kiss X4) Panasonic Lumix DMC-GX1
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Martin.au