35mm or 50mm?

Started Mar 28, 2013 | Questions
Tsan
Regular MemberPosts: 296
Like?
35mm or 50mm?
Mar 28, 2013

Hi,

I recently started shooting exclusively 50mm on my full frame Nikon after using zooms for a long time. I like that practice so far.

Now for my Nex7, which lens should I get to kind of match my Nikon where I can interchange both camera to get the same look? I want to get a Sony prime (I have the kit lens) in either the 35mm or 50mm.

Thanks,

Tsan

ANSWER:
This question has not been answered yet.
Sony Alpha NEX-7
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
kaku
Contributing MemberPosts: 552
Like?
Re: 35mm or 50mm?
In reply to Tsan, Mar 28, 2013

35mm (SEL35f18)

Or, if you have a bit more money, you can wait for the Zeiss 32mm coming soonish.

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
fquails
Forum MemberPosts: 98Gear list
Like?
In reply to kaku, Mar 28, 2013

Get the 35mm for the N7, to match the FoV of 50mm on your FF Nikon.

I recently purchased the Nikon 35 f/1.8g dx  for use on my N7 via adapter.  Manual focus, but works great.  I plan to use the same lens on my Nikon d7k, d200, and d700.  For the d700, it is usable at 1.8 with minor vignetting.

fquails's gear list:fquails's gear list
Nikon D200 Nikon D700 Nikon D7000 Sony Alpha NEX-5N Sony Alpha NEX-7 +8 more
Tsan
Regular MemberPosts: 296
Like?
In reply to kaku, Mar 28, 2013

So if I get a 50mm on my Nex7, it will be closer to me using a 85mm on a FF Nikon, right?

Thanks,

Tsan

cxsparc
Senior MemberPosts: 1,099
Like?

Right. Though somehow I enjoy using my SEL50 more than I used to with my film SLR & Minolta 50/1.7. It is a different type of photgraphy, focusing more on less

I am tempted to get a 24 mm prime, not the 35 mm because indoors 35 mm is just not enough.

But maybe thats just me.

-- hide signature --
Mel Snyder
Veteran MemberPosts: 3,031Gear list
Like?

Tsan wrote:

Hi,