Can I use Nik software on its own? Or does it need some other software to run?

Started Mar 27, 2013 | Discussions
rosskoss Forum Member • Posts: 68
Can I use Nik software on its own? Or does it need some other software to run?

Sorry, I'm new to the world of re-touching. Are these plug-ins that require a host software or can I use them as stand-alone tools (I don't have any image processing s/w on my computer).

If it's the former, any recommendations for an inexpensive host software that is compatible with the Nik plug-ins?

I'm writing this in reference to the following offer which I'm interested in -

https://plus.google.com/u/1/112991908363536599988/posts/dwJAcwuphTa

Fred T Regular Member • Posts: 245
Re: Can I use Nik software on its own? Or does it need some other software to run?

Found on internet:

Steve T. , Jan 09, 2012; 11:01 p.m.

Mark K W Senior Member • Posts: 1,728
Re: Can I use Nik software on its own? Or does it need some other software to run?

Thank you for contacting Nik Software. Yes, HDR Efex Pro is the only one of our software that will run as a standalone product.

Hmm; interesting.....  I have them all (the Nik versions on my Mac) and I think they *all* work as standalone if you drag a (JPEG or TIFF) file or files onto their OS icons to open it/them.

HDR Efex is the only one which has a file open menu though; so maybe that is why Nik speak specifically of it working standalone.

As far as I can tell (and I am pretty confident in what I say, certainly under OS X), the Lightroom and Aperture versions are actually standalone. They do not really run inside Lightroom or Aperture. Those "host" programs merely export a processed TIFF to the Nik program, and then after the Nik program is closed with a save, the result is imported back to Lightrrom or Aperture. The plug-in part is really just that export/import interface.