Question: Bad Bokeh / Good Bokeh

Started Mar 26, 2013 | Discussions
citrontokyo
Contributing MemberPosts: 780Gear list
Like?
Question: Bad Bokeh / Good Bokeh
Mar 26, 2013

Hi again. I'm just curious about opinions of the bokeh in this picture. Trying to get a general feel about what other people like. Do you like it, or not? If you like it, why? And if not, why not? It was shot at f 4.5, so the straight edges  of the aperture blades are visible.  Thanks for your input.

Mark

citrontokyo's gear list:citrontokyo's gear list
Pentax K-5 Pentax smc DA 55-300mm F4.0-5.8 ED Pentax smc DA 21mm F3.2 AL Limited Pentax smc DA 70mm F2.4 AL Limited Pentax smc FA 43mm F1.9 Limited +4 more
TomWret
Senior MemberPosts: 1,556Gear list
Like?
Re: Question: Bad Bokeh / Good Bokeh
In reply to citrontokyo, Mar 26, 2013

I'm no expert but I think a tighter crop would improve the over look. The white spots in the blurred background are distracting to me.

Tom W(ret)

-- hide signature --

...a bad picture is like a missed putt, it's never your fault.

TomWret's gear list:TomWret's gear list
Pentax K-5 IIs Tamron SP AF 90mm F/2.8 Di Macro Tamron SP AF 17-35mm F/2.8-4 Di LD Aspherical (IF) Pentax smc DA 50mm F1.8 Epson Stylus Photo R3000 +3 more
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Cane
Senior MemberPosts: 4,642
Like?

I would classify it as not being soft or smooth. This gives a busyness to the background that distracts the eye from the in-focus subject. To me, it's kind of like putting someone else's prescription glasses on, a little head ache inducing.

ilikespam
Regular MemberPosts: 317Gear list
Like?
In reply to Cane, Mar 26, 2013

Would someone be willing to post'good bokeh' for comparison?

ilikespam's gear list:ilikespam's gear list
Sony Alpha NEX-6 A3000 Sony E 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 OSS Sony E 16-50mm F3.5-5.6 PZ OSS +1 more
Gerry Winterbourne
Veteran MemberPosts: 8,158
Like?