Can someone help?New to fuji x100. Is this flare?

Started Mar 23, 2013 | Discussions
famous amos
Junior MemberPosts: 32
Like?
Can someone help?New to fuji x100. Is this flare?
Mar 23, 2013

Hello, I just picked up a used copy of the x100 at a bargain price from amazon. I love this camera! It is so simple and convenient to carry around! I am a micro four thirds user, but the past week I have had the camera, I have picked up my fuji x100 more than I have picked up my micro four thirds gear.

However, I do have a question. I am seeing a strong haze when shooting in sunlight that isn't even strong. I do not know if this is flaring. I have yet to try a lens hood. However, even without a lens hood, I have not seen this in any of my micro four thirds or canon gear. I am still learning, and wondering what could be causing this problem. Any advice is much appreciated.

I have attached two photos with examples. I get this hazing/flaring(?) even at 5PM when the sun is setting.

Fujifilm FinePix X100
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
mbb101
Junior MemberPosts: 39
Like?
Re: Can someone help?New to fuji x100. Is this flare?
In reply to famous amos, Mar 23, 2013

overexposure- you're shooting wide open. The leaf shutter has a limit of 1/1000 wide open. Either shoot at f5.6 or engage the ND filter and this will be fine

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
famous amos
Like?
In reply to mbb101, Mar 23, 2013

I had the ND filter on. I shot in aperture priority and exposure seemed to be correct, but that is what I got.

Vic Chapman
Senior MemberPosts: 2,234Gear list
Like?

Shooting into the sun will usually get you some flare - shooting into a low sun will get you even more. If the sun is just out of frame make sure to use a lens hood. I would expect to get this sort of flare in the same conditions using my Nikon D300/D700 and Nikon primes.

-- hide signature --