Is Waterproof Dustproof too?

Started Mar 16, 2013 | Questions
MickeyWickey
New MemberPosts: 3Gear list
Like?
Is Waterproof Dustproof too?
Mar 16, 2013

I am not a professional photographer. I work in a dusty environment. We need to take lots of pictures every day with several different cameras. Most of the waterproof point and shoots look like they have dinky little lenses. A year or so ago I remember seeing a Canon camera at a club store that had "dustproof" as a feature but I'm having little luck finding it again.

Are the waterproof cameras generally considered to be dustproof as well? Are there any "prosumer" level cameras with the dustproof feature that you know of?

Thanks for any assistance.

-Mickey

MickeyWickey's gear list:MickeyWickey's gear list
Sony Cyber-shot DSC-F717
ANSWER:
Robert Anderson
Senior MemberPosts: 2,261
Like?
Re: Is Waterproof Dustproof too?
In reply to MickeyWickey, Mar 16, 2013

The waterproof P&S models are also considered dust proof. None of them have very good image quality compared to prosumer models. All have small sensors and folded optical systems. Most have over aggressive noise reduction. A prosumer model in an underwater housing would do a better job.

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
MickeyWickey
Like?
In reply to Robert Anderson, Mar 16, 2013

Thank you. That's actually a good idea, and I can test it right away with my Canon G9 and the underwater housing that I really never used.

I also saw this one in doing more searching around:

http://www.dpreview.com/news/2012/02/08/Olympus_OM-D_E-M5_announced

which touts weather sealing. Wonder if it's enough for the fine dust I'm trying to avoid. I don't expect we'll be changing lenses often, and if we do, it would be in the showroom area, not in the dusty production area.

Sony Cyber-shot DSC-F717
glasswave
Veteran MemberPosts: 5,614
Like?
Re:Waterproof vs. water resistant vs dustproof...

MickeyWickey wrote: