The Little Camera that Could

Started Feb 15, 2012 | User reviews
convergentus
Junior MemberPosts: 44
Like?
The Little Camera that Could
Feb 15, 2012

I consider the Nikon V1 one of the most underrated cameras on the market and having used it for 4 weeks I believe that a lot of the bashing its received online is largely unjustified. I have 30 years of amateur / enthusiast experience and have always preferred the direct connection you get from an optical viewfinder, so the early EVFs with their pixelation and lag just put me off EVFs altogether. So point #1, the EVF on the V1 is excellent. Fast refresh rate and enough detail to be a real alternative to optical. As a comparison, my Fuji X100 (hybrid optical/EVF) when set to EVF the refresh rate is only as fast when half pressing. With the V1, the refresh rate is high speed all the time. One small downside is the eye sensor delay (which activates the EVF) is a bit slow, so you get a black viewfinder for a short second while the EVF wakes up. A bit annoying if you want to pull off a quick shot. Point #2, the V1 uses the same battery and charger as my D7000 so I save $ not having to buy more spare batteries and I can share between cameras. (The IR remote is also the same). The battery is also a decent size. Point #3, the AF (phase detection) really is fast - so long as you keep the light good (by using the 10 mm prime indoors or in poor light). The zooms are a little slow so the camera falls back to contrast detection in poor light and you get the familiar hunting delay, although still not bad, just way slower than PD. Point #3 the V1 can pull off 10 fps in electronic shutter mode and still maintain focus! And you can shoot at this rate for over 3 seconds and capture around 34 raw images before the buffer is full. Recovery is about 1 sec/image with a fast card, so this camera really lives for short, repeated bursts (3-5 frames) of continuous shooting. It can even go up to 60 fps. Not much else out there that matches this