First shot with CZ 24mm

Started Mar 15, 2013 | Discussions
alextardif
Regular MemberPosts: 208Gear list
Like?
First shot with CZ 24mm
Mar 15, 2013

Tried the CZ 24mm for the first time on the NEX7.  Really liking the bokeh but wondering what I might be doing wrong in terms of settings since I was surprised how much CA there was at wide open - you will easily notice it at the highest contrast areas on the out-of-focus pipe above.

I'm just getting into photography and learning my way around LR4, so I know some of this is fixable post processing, but would appreciate any comments on how (other than reducing aperture) I can improve the CA using this glass (it was really bad in some of my other shots).

General critique is welcome as well

alextardif's gear list:alextardif's gear list
Sony RX1 Sony SLT-A77 Sony SLT-A99 Sony a77 II Sony 24-70mm F2.8 ZA SSM Carl Zeiss Vario-Sonnar T* +6 more
Sony Alpha NEX-7
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
davect01
Senior MemberPosts: 3,914
Like?
Re: First shot with CZ 24mm
In reply to alextardif, Mar 16, 2013

Ya, mostly is just looks like you got too much Gamma light. Turn it down and you should have a great image.

Also I probably would have included both spouts into focus.

-- hide signature --

Novice photobug, proud NEX-3 owner
http://davesnex-3photos.blogspot.com/

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Jefenator
Senior MemberPosts: 1,400Gear list
Like?
In reply to alextardif, Mar 16, 2013

I've had my best luck removing CA manually with the eyedropper tool in LR4's "Lens Corrections" tool section (under the "Color" sub-heading).

I'm not sure what else to recommend, since one usually composes a frame and shoots wide open for pretty specific reasons. (You could try stopping down just a little bit - f/2 won't change the depth too much but it does seem to tidy up many things - particularly in the corners. Though I often find a certain amount of CA there even at f/8...)