Which MacBook Pro for d800?

Started Mar 8, 2013 | Questions
Swiss L
New MemberPosts: 24
Like?
Which MacBook Pro for d800?
Mar 8, 2013

I need to upgrade my laptop to process the large files and given that we are largely Apple converts am considering a MacBook 13 Retina with 8MB RAM following the drop in price. I intend to use Aperture and possibly Lightroom 4. I am not a pro and my experience in processing RAW files is limited. I am concerned whether 8mb RAM with the flash drive is sufficient to work with the large files produced by the D800 as no upgrades are possible. I will use external storage as back-up. Looking for peoples experience with this device. Cheers S

ANSWER:
This question has not been answered yet.
Nikon D800
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Toccata47
Senior MemberPosts: 2,189
Like?
Re: Which MacBook Pro for d800?
In reply to Swiss L, Mar 8, 2013

The retina is nice for looking at photos, but the 13" screen is awkward with the files this large and imho,  anssd for a 1 drive solution just isn't large enough. These files are huge. If you're tethered to an external monitor and external drives than it doesn't really matter which you use as 8m of ram will be sufficient provided you are just an enthusiastic amateur (assumed).

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
EricWN
Senior MemberPosts: 1,001
Like?
In reply to Toccata47, Mar 8, 2013

First of all, it's gigabyte, not megabyte we're talking about. Be careful of the "little" differences. Second, 8 GB might be enough but in a machine that cannot be upgraded in this area, always get the maximum possible, even if it's just for the resale value.

Swiss L
Like?
In reply to EricWN, Mar 8, 2013