Sony E-Mount 10-18 f4 or Tokina 11-16 f2.8

Started Feb 10, 2013 | Discussions
baidun
New MemberPosts: 10
Like?
Sony E-Mount 10-18 f4 or Tokina 11-16 f2.8
Feb 10, 2013

I was wondering if anyone had experience with these two lenses and could provide Pros and Cons? I'm a total newb and have just finished reading Friedman's Sony Nex-7 book a couple of times (and still trying to understand it all), but I've become enamoured at manual focusing (yet very slow at it and miss many shots because of it). I've searched this site but don't see much regarding the Tokina lens. I have a variety of legacy lenses (35mm and up) along with the original SEL 18-200 (my favorite all around lens), the SEL 50, and the SEL 24. I need a wider angle lens for both outdoor and indoor shots, so I figure a wide angle zoom lens that is somewhat fast would be goodness. The Sony seems very nice, albeit a bit slow and more expensive. I'm not sure, but I don't think OSS would be a big factor at these wide angles, especially outdoors? The Tokina seems great spec-wise and less expensive. I don't do RAW as I haven't figured our Photoshop or Lightroom or any of those SW tools.  Does anyone have experience with the Tokina?

Regards

Sony Alpha NEX-7
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
aap292
Regular MemberPosts: 132
Like?
Re: Sony E-Mount 10-18 f4 or Tokina 11-16 f2.8
In reply to baidun, Feb 10, 2013

I think one thing you might consider is that the 10-18 would have lens correction (including distortion) from your NEX. Since you aren't using RAW, then you might have some distortion in your shots that wouldn't get corrected (I think) on the Tokina.

I'm a newbie too, so I'm sure someone else can comment on this.

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Clayton1985
Veteran MemberPosts: 4,049
Like?
In reply to baidun, Feb 10, 2013