Recommendations welcome- protect my new camera!

Started Feb 8, 2013 | Questions
karma2m
New MemberPosts: 1
Like?
Recommendations welcome- protect my new camera!
Feb 8, 2013

Just ordered a Canon SX40 & want to care for it properly.

Should I buy a filter to protect the lens?  If so, recommendations?

I'm not very experienced, so please be gentle!

Karen in Texas, anxiously awaiting her new arrival!

ANSWER:
This question has not been answered yet.
Dimitrios Zavos
New MemberPosts: 1Gear list
Like?
Re: Recommendations welcome- protect my new camera!
In reply to karma2m, Feb 8, 2013

Hello karma2m,

A special adapter is required to mount a filter on the SX40. There are two sizes available, one to mount a 58mm filter and one to mount a 67mm filter. Canon offers a 67mm adapter so I'd stick to that since the 58mm that other providers offer might cause some vignetting. If all you want is to protect your lens then a UV filter is sufficient. Please use a good quality filter. No point covering a fine lens with an inferior piece of glass. Also please consider using a lens hood to protect against contact and hits when carrying the camera around on its strap.

Hope this helps.

Dimitrios Zavos's gear list:Dimitrios Zavos's gear list
Canon EOS 5D Mark III Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
confyushis
Contributing MemberPosts: 856Gear list
Like?
hood, yes ... filter, not so much ...

karma2m wrote:
Should I buy a filter to protect the lens? If so, recommendations?

a UV filter is typically not necessary and may make your pictures worse ... any glass you put in front of your lens will reduce picture quality, though you may or may not notice a difference ... you would have to buy the filter adapter for about $20 and then buy a filter which may cost much more depending on quality ...