Is AF-C basically a myth for NEX?

Started Feb 4, 2013 | Discussions
dpyy
Contributing MemberPosts: 877
Like?
Is AF-C basically a myth for NEX?
Feb 4, 2013

I have a NEX6 camera and I've been missing a lot of moving shots for candid portraits in the street. Mostly because they are all out of focus. So I started training for this particular scenario. So first of all, I'm using a fast lens Z24 that allows me to go up to 1/200 or 1/300 with decent exposure.

Then secondly, I started using focus tracking. This way I can mark the person's face and then recompose. For the most part focus tracking is not the problem.

So finally the problem really is with AF-C. In burst mode, what I would expect is that the camera should constantly try to refocus after each shot, the box would turn green, makes the beep sound, and then take the shot. It kind of does this, but what ends up happening is that it would beep but the subject is still out of focus. So basically it lies...

The question is, anyone was able to use AF-C successfully for moving objects and burst mode? I'd imagine this is a very typical scenario. For example, the good old train-moving-towards you scenario where you would need to continuously change focus.

(P.S. I can take a video demonstrating this effect if I'm not explaining this clearly)

Sony Alpha NEX-6
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
squirrelyfox
Forum MemberPosts: 59Gear list
Like?
Re: Is AF-C basically a myth for NEX?
In reply to dpyy, Feb 4, 2013

Anecdotally, yes I've noticed this and have been disappointed with the focus results of shooting multiple frames. I've always been meaning to test this out though in a more controlled manner to see how good/bad the AF in-between shots actually is (e.g. the train scenario or something similar). Anyone out there actually tried a more controlled test before to see how well this works?

squirrelyfox's gear list:squirrelyfox's gear list