EM-5 + 9-18 for Real Estate photos...Love it!

Started Jan 30, 2013 | Discussions
Brent J
Regular MemberPosts: 383Gear list
Like?
EM-5 + 9-18 for Real Estate photos...Love it!
Jan 30, 2013

I've been using the EM-5 with the Oly 9-18mm for a few months for RE Photos and I am so pleased. This camera and the files it can produce are so wonderful to work with I highly recommend it to anyone considering purchasing one.

To be able to place the camera on a tripod (about waist height) and use the flip-out screen to compose the shot while standing is so much better than getting down on a knee for composing.

I process the RAW images in Adobe Camera RAW and Photoshop CS6. There is so much room in the RAW files to bring back detail in areas that look to be "blown-out" and also to lighten shadows without bringing in noise.

Below are a few examples. The EXIF data gets removed I think when Saving To Web in Photoshop but all are shot at ISO 200; IS off; f/8; variable shutter speeds; 2 second timer; Auto White Balance (almost always perfectly accurate). I think all of the shots are at or near 9mm focal length.

-- hide signature --

Just because you can, doesn't mean you should

richj20
Senior MemberPosts: 1,825
Like?
Re: EM-5 + 9-18 for Real Estate photos...Love it!
In reply to Brent J, Jan 30, 2013

What a beautiful home!

I wonder if I might ask about technique. I photograph interiors from time to time and there is always the problem of retaining perspective when framing at an angle to the room, rather than looking straight on into the room.

Your first example is straight on and everything looks nice.

An example of what I'm referring to is in the second image, where the camera is looking into the room at an angle, and the floor and table lean a bit to the left. Even using the Skew tool in Photoshop doesn't always yield good results.