Started Jan 28, 2013 | Discussions
wint
Regular MemberPosts: 283Gear list
Like?
Why I'm wondering to switch to Canon after my experience with D600 + 24-70mm
Jan 28, 2013

I was reading this huge thread about switching to Canon:

http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/thread/3370016

I am relatively new to the Nikon but I had some unpleasant experiences that are making me think about trying Canon. I'll list:

1) The issue of oil / dust on the sensor. It's pretty clear to anyone who bought the D600 that will have to live with it forever. I do not want a camera that requires much maintenance.

2) I had problems with SD card slot 2 on my D600. It just was not recognizing the card until I played with a key there and somehow allow the contact.

3) I bought a used 24-70mm. I know that was a mistake. But served to find out how many problems has this essential Nikkor lens: Zoom ring rubber loosing , "stiff" zoom and I'm still discovering more.

4) There are a lot of people that complain abot the colors Nikon cameras produces. I always thought the colors from Canon are more vivid, but I thought it was my mind. But recently I saw a lot of people drawing attention to it. So it's not just me.

It is clear to me that Nikon has a serious problem with the QC.
If it is clear to me that the 5D markIII gives me better IQ, AF, Colors, HIGH ISO, Radio Flashes etc, today for $ 800 more, I think, for FF beginners like me it is worth investing in Canon.

wint's gear list:wint's gear list
Panasonic Lumix DMC-GF2 Nikon D600 Nikon AF-S Nikkor 24-70mm f/2.8G ED Panasonic Lumix G 20mm F1.7 ASPH Nikon AF-S Nikkor 85mm f/1.8G +4 more
Canon EOS 5D Nikon D600
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
mbernard
Senior MemberPosts: 1,073
Like?
Re: Why I'm wondering to switch to Canon after my experience with D600 + 24-70mm
In reply to wint, Jan 28, 2013

Each system has its drawbacks. Buying a SH lens is always risky.

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain