OM-D E-M5 vs. Nikon D3200 macro test using Olympus 60mm F2.8 and Nikon 85mm F3.5VR

Started Jan 28, 2013 | Discussions
AndrewNewYork
Regular MemberPosts: 167Gear list
Like?
OM-D E-M5 vs. Nikon D3200 macro test using Olympus 60mm F2.8 and Nikon 85mm F3.5VR
Jan 28, 2013

For anybody who is interested in these lenses I did a quick test between them.  I am not an expert in macro and I didn’t want to use a tripod. I was hoping for 1:1 macro in these images. So I set the lens to 1:1 and manually focused by moving the camera. All hand-held jpg re-sized 50% down for upload. All shot in Aperture mode. Test shots outdoors in the distance are very good for both. Exposure is too dark on Olympus in macro shots. Obviously the Olympus has a smaller sensor than Nikon. So F8 on Olympus is equal to F16 on full frame.

Nikon top, Olympus bottom

corner detail

AndrewNewYork's gear list:AndrewNewYork's gear list
Olympus OM-D E-M5 Nikon D800 Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 35mm f/1.8G Nikon AF-S DX Micro-Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR +6 more
Nikon D3200 Olympus OM-D E-M5
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
AndrewNewYork
Like?
Re: OM-D E-M5 vs. Nikon D3200 macro test using Olympus 60mm F2.8 and Nikon 85mm F3.5VR
In reply to AndrewNewYork, Jan 28, 2013

Olympus OM-D E-M5 Nikon D800 Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 35mm f/1.8G Nikon AF-S DX Micro-Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR +6 more
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
AndrewNewYork
Like?
Re: OM-D E-M5 vs. Nikon D3200 macro test using Olympus 60mm F2.8 and Nikon 85mm F3.5VR

AndrewNewYork
Like?

test outside - both look very sharp

Adventsam
Veteran MemberPosts: 4,983
Like?

AndrewNewYork wrote: