Sony NEX-3 any good?

Started Jan 27, 2013 | Discussions
seppo123
New MemberPosts: 7
Like?
Sony NEX-3 any good?
Jan 27, 2013

Hi, so i'm a noob in photography. I recently bought a Canon 30D for learning to use DSLR. I was using the 30D with a 35-70mm EF lens, but sold the lens recently.

Now I was planning to buy a new lens for the 30D, the 40mm F2.8 since it would be quite ideal focal length for my shooting (Can't get wider within my budget.)

But then I came across a brand new Sony NEX-3 offer so if I sold what I currently have I could get the NEX and it's included 16mm/2.8 for 30£ cheaper than my 30D+40mm f2.8.

The NEX made me curious because it's small, and has video capability.

Which one do you think has better image quality?

Canon EOS 30D Sony Alpha NEX-3
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
PDine
Contributing MemberPosts: 553
Like?
Re: Sony NEX-3 any good?
In reply to seppo123, Jan 28, 2013

I've borrowed a 30d in the past and now have a nex-c3. The nex has has a marginal edge in image quality from a high ISO noise point of view but its fairly negligible IMO. The Canon is a lot faster in operation and is built like a tank. The nex is a lot smaller and lighter. The af is way faster on the Canon, but more accurate on the nex for still subjects. The Canon wins hands down for tracking moving subjects. You might feel you'd lost as much as yous gained, unless video is that important to you.

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
lenshoarder
Contributing MemberPosts: 597
Like?
In reply to seppo123, Jan 28, 2013