Canon 5D - AI Servo settings for child/toddler Photography

Started Jan 25, 2013 | Discussions
Myatix
New MemberPosts: 24Gear list
Like?
Canon 5D - AI Servo settings for child/toddler Photography
Jan 25, 2013

Hi All,

I am a junior photographer trying to build my experience within family and child/ toddler portraiture!

I recently brought a Canon 5D mark iii and was wondering if there where any pro's out there willing to share some settings with regards to their AI Servo settings when photographing kids!

Thanks for the help!

Myatix's gear list:Myatix's gear list
Canon PowerShot S95 Canon EOS 5D Mark III Canon EOS 6D Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM +2 more
Canon EOS 5D Canon EOS 5D Mark III
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Ahender
Senior MemberPosts: 1,554
Like?
Re: Canon 5D - AI Servo settings for child/toddler Photography
In reply to Myatix, Jan 25, 2013

You might want to try googling your topic.

I did and there are lots of pages than mention kids and AI SERVO with the 5D Mark III.

From everything I have read about AI SERVO and kids, it is hard to do because kids are so erratic in their movements.

What lens(es) are you using?

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
bhollis
Senior MemberPosts: 2,385Gear list
Like?
In reply to Myatix, Jan 25, 2013

Myatix wrote:

Hi All,

I am a junior photographer trying to build my experience within family and child/ toddler portraiture!

I recently brought a Canon 5D mark iii and was wondering if there where any pro's out there willing to share some settings with regards to their AI Servo settings when photographing kids!

Thanks for the help!

I just use single point and Case 1 when shooting my grandkids and have had pretty good luck.

The linked document containts a pretty comprehensive overview of the 5D3 AF system, including the various AI Servo Cases and settings.