Which Lens?

Started Jan 21, 2013 | Questions
sustownsend
New MemberPosts: 2
Like?
Which Lens?
Jan 21, 2013

I am a semi-proffessional photographer and in preperation of shooting my first wedding this summer I am purchasing some new lenses. I'm a bit bogged down by all of the choices but have narrowed my long-distance lens down to 3 choices: the Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8 constant ap throughout zoom with the optical stabilization system, the Canon 70-200mm f/2.8 constant ap without IS and the same with the IS. Does anyone have any experience shooting between the Sigma with OS and the Canon without IS? Is there a big difference? I'm sure the best would be the Canon with IS but the Sigma is about $500 cheaper, would the Sigma optical stabilization be comparable to the Canon image stabilization? Are there any other lenses that I haven't found in my shopping that would be better in that range?

Josh Hunt
Regular MemberPosts: 245
Like?
Re: Which Lens?
In reply to sustownsend, Jan 21, 2013

I will just say that IS is really nice--especially with long glass

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
hedwards
Regular MemberPosts: 267
Like?
In reply to sustownsend, Jan 22, 2013

I can't comment on the Sigma. I do however own the Canon EF 70-200mm F2.8L IS Mk I and it's arguably the best lens that Canon has ever released. You're going to need IS on a lens like that, unless you're constantly working off a tripod.

Mk I versus MK II is kind of a toughie. The Mk II is slightly better in some ways, but I'm not sure it's good enough to justify spending the extra money on.

The main problem with the Sigma is that you may need to get it rechipped in the future. I've heard rumors about a USB lens mount that would allow you to update the lens firmware at home, but I don't think that's been released. And, anyways, I wouldn't bother until/unless you need it.