Canon 90 EX for beginner as a Master unit?

Started Jan 4, 2013 | Discussions
DoctorPDA
Forum MemberPosts: 84
Like?
Canon 90 EX for beginner as a Master unit?
Jan 4, 2013

I'm interested in the new Canon 90EX flash since my Canon T2i does not have ability to control a flash off camera, and I want to experiment with off camera flash.  Since I'm a beginner, I don't want to spend a large amount of cash (maybe ~ $500 max).

I figured I would get the Canon 90EX ($150) which I could use as a master and for fill flash.  Then I would get a 430 EX II ($250) for use off camera with an umbrella ($100) and practice with off camera flash that way.  Would this set up work?  I'd be willing to pay that much up front to experiment with flash.

Is there any reason I should look into the Canon 580 EX II ($500) or the new 600 EX-RT ($569) they both act as master on the T2i, but I still need another flash (ex. 430 EX II) for off camera, correct?, which would be too much money for me to spend....

Thanks,

Gus

Canon EOS 550D (EOS Rebel T2i / EOS Kiss X4)
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Sailor Blue
Senior MemberPosts: 6,790Gear list
Like?
Re: Canon 90 EX for beginner as a Master unit?
In reply to DoctorPDA, Jan 4, 2013

As far as I can tell from the specs the Canon 90EX is NOT a master flash.  In fact the only master flash that Canon currently makes is the 600EX-RT.  The recently discontinued 580EX II is also a master flash and can still be found for sale.

The 90EX would not do what you want.  It is also fixed without the ability to tilt and rotate the flash head.  Frankly it is not worth buying.