My 1st build, need help...

Started Dec 3, 2012 | Discussions
medcapt
Regular MemberPosts: 220Gear list
Like?
My 1st build, need help...
Dec 3, 2012

This is my first build, so I am confused on where to plugs things in. I will be photo and video editing with this build. First this is what I have as far as “parts”

Motherboard……….. ASUS P8Z77-V DELUXE LGA 1155

SSD…..Crucial 256 GB m42.5-Inch Solid State Drive

HD X 2 …….Western Digital Blue 1 TB Desktop Hard Drive

I want to set up the two WD HD’s in a Raid config. And use the SSD for PS, Lr4, and premier along with my OS and other programs.

On the MBO it has

2 Marvell Serial ATA 6.0 Gb/s connectors (navy blue)

2 Intel Z77 Serial ATA 6.0 Gb/s connectors (gray)

4 Intel Z77 Serial ATA 3.0 Gb/s connectors (blue)

I keep reading the user guide but I am not sure how to hook up my stuff.

Thanks for the help….

medcapt's gear list:medcapt's gear list
Canon EOS 7D Canon EOS 5D Mark III Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Canon EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM +4 more
Casio Exilim EX-Z77
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Bob Collette
Veteran MemberPosts: 3,702Gear list
Like?
Re: My 1st build, need help...
In reply to medcapt, Dec 4, 2012

I've read that there can be compatibility issues with the Marvell controller and SSD's, so I would suggest connecting the SSD to one of the Intel 6Gb/s controllers (gray).  You could connect the two hard drives to either the Marvell controller (navy blue) or the Intel 3Gb/s controller (blue).  Since hard drives don't have the sustained transfer rate of an SSD, you probably won't see much real world difference between the two controllers, particularly if running a RAID 1 array.  If running RAID 0, I would try the Marvell controller first.

Bob Collette's gear list:Bob Collette's gear list
Canon PowerShot G3 +4 more
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
medcapt
Like?
In reply to Bob Collette, Dec 4, 2012