HEADSHOTS: 85L 1.2 or 100L f/2.8 Macro IS USM?

Started Nov 23, 2012 | Discussions
shutterthug
Forum MemberPosts: 82
Like?
HEADSHOTS: 85L 1.2 or 100L f/2.8 Macro IS USM?
Nov 23, 2012

I'm a professional headshot photographer and have been using the 85L on my 5D2 for years.  I typically shoot handheld, f/3.5 @ 1/320sec under my usual lighting setup.

I'm not really hurting for IS and am OK with the focal length of the 85L, but I rented the new 100mm Macro today for some food work and it got me thinking: I don't really use the 85L in "God mode" (wide open f/1.2) for any of the work that pays the bills around here.

So I'm wondering if the faster autofocus and the Macro capability might not be worth considering as a replacement.  Funny, I've really grown attached to the heft of the so-called "Canonball" and see the world at 85mm (a problem I know I need to correct, just admitting it's my comfort zone).

Any thoughts, gang?

—m

www.michaelcavotta.com

Canon EOS 5D Mark II
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
amosf
Contributing MemberPosts: 680Gear list
Like?
Re: HEADSHOTS: 85L 1.2 or 100L f/2.8 Macro IS USM?
In reply to shutterthug, Nov 24, 2012

You'll have to do some comparisons and let usknow

amosf's gear list:amosf's gear list
Canon EOS 550D Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Tamron SP AF 17-50mm F/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical (IF) Tamron AF 18-200mm F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II LD Aspherical (IF) Macro +3 more
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
MirekE
Contributing MemberPosts: 820
Like?

The 100 is lighter and not so bulky and therefore nicer to handhold. The AF is considerably faster (with limiter) and side by side the 100 is as sharp or sharper, if that is a concern. I had the 100 only shortly, but it was my impression that it is more resistant to veiling glare.