nikon 80-200 f 2.8 or sigma 70-200 f2.8

Started Nov 15, 2012 | Questions
rhaikenking
New MemberPosts: 2Gear list
Like?
nikon 80-200 f 2.8 or sigma 70-200 f2.8
Nov 15, 2012

hi,im an medium level photographer i use  a nikon d90 my favorite subject is sports photography action photography and food photography and im planing to buy a lens and i cant decide which is is better of the two lens considering that the nikon 80-200 f 2.8 is a bit cheaper than the sigma 70-200 f 2.8 i wanted to know which of them would you prefer... hoping for a reply any input is much appreciated

ANSWER:
This question has not been answered yet.
Nikon AF-Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8D ED Nikon D90 Sigma 70-200mm F2.8 EX DG OS HSM
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
slimandy
Forum ProPosts: 14,637Gear list
Like?
Re: nikon 80-200 f 2.8 or sigma 70-200 f2.8
In reply to rhaikenking, Nov 15, 2012

Sorry to widen the field further but is a used Nikon 70~200mm f2.8 VRI an option? Because that would be my choice.

-- hide signature --

www.andrewsandersphotography.co.uk

slimandy's gear list:slimandy's gear list
Sony RX100 II Nikon D200 Nikon D700 Olympus OM-D E-M5 Fujifilm X-E1 +1 more
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Windancer
Veteran MemberPosts: 4,892Gear list
Like?
In reply to slimandy, Nov 15, 2012

slimandy wrote:

but is a used Nikon 70~200mm f2.8 VRI an option?

I would agree with Andrew I think the best choice for your D90 body would be a used 70-200/2.8 VRI lens.

As good as the Sigma and the Nikon 80-200/2.8 are IMO I think you would be most satisfied with the newer 70-200/2.8 VRI. Just my opinion though.......

Terry

-- hide signature --

Graham Fine Art Photography
http://www.pbase.com/windancer
Remember, it's not the CPU that's in your camera that makes great images, it's the one located about 4" behind the viewfinder that does.