Tethering and Windows 8?

Started Oct 30, 2012 | Discussions
ron purdy
Senior MemberPosts: 2,493Gear list
Like?
Tethering and Windows 8?
Oct 30, 2012

Hey, has anyone had success tethering 5D2 or 5D3 with Windows 8?

Thanks.

-- hide signature --

ron purdy dot com

Canon EOS 5D Mark II Canon EOS 5D Mark III
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
DotCom Editor
Veteran MemberPosts: 6,582Gear list
Like?
I'll let you know in two years
In reply to ron purdy, Oct 30, 2012

It'll take two years for Windows 8 to become stable. Only then will I even consider the idea of entrusting my business to it, not before. What's your rush?

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
ron purdy
Senior MemberPosts: 2,493Gear list
Like?
Re: I'll let you know in two years
In reply to DotCom Editor, Oct 30, 2012

As far as I have heard, it's pretty stable now, and I am in no rush.

Just seeking helpful information *from people who have tried it.*

I don't wish to enter a debate with someone who has not tried tethering with it, thanks.

-- hide signature --

ron purdy dot com

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
KBStudio
Forum MemberPosts: 65Gear list
Like?
Re: I'll let you know in two years
In reply to ron purdy, Oct 30, 2012

We shoot tethered into EOS Utility and doubt that Canon's most recent version will support Windows 8.

As for Lightroom tethering, I would guess that it would be more of a USB 2 driver issue.  That is does Windows 8 support the camera as a USB 2 device.

 KBStudio's gear list:KBStudio's gear list
Canon EOS 5D Mark II Sony Alpha 7R Canon EF 17-40mm f/4.0L USM Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM +3 more
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
ron purdy
Senior MemberPosts: 2,493Gear list
Like?
Re: I'll let you know in two years
In reply to KBStudio, Nov 4, 2012

SO I guess no one else has tried it yet...?

-- hide signature --

ron purdy dot com

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
WalterSrChat
Senior MemberPosts: 1,092Gear list
Like?
Re: Tethering and Windows 8? Canon Said Yes!
In reply to ron purdy, Nov 4, 2012

EOS Utility 2.12.0 Updater for Windows  10/26/12 62.63 MB File Name: eu2120en.exe

OS: Windows 8, Windows XP, Windows Vista (x64), Windows Vista, Windows 7 (x64), Windows 7, Windows 8 (x64) Language: English

EOS Utility is an application that brings together all of the functions required to communicate with the camera. Functions for downloading and displaying images, remote shooting, and camera control of each setting when an EOS DIGITAL camera is connecte...

Walter Sr

-- hide signature --

I am out to take the perfect picture, if it exits!

 WalterSrChat's gear list:WalterSrChat's gear list
Canon EOS-1Ds Mark III Canon EOS 20D Canon EOS-1D X Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM +3 more
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Breitling
Senior MemberPosts: 1,277Gear list
Like?
Re: I'll let you know in two years
In reply to DotCom Editor, Nov 4, 2012

DotCom Editor wrote:

It'll take two years for Windows 8 to become stable. Only then will I even consider the idea of entrusting my business to it, not before. What's your rush?

How is that stability issue?

 Breitling's gear list:Breitling's gear list
Canon EOS 5D Mark III Canon EF 24mm f/1.4L II USM Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM Canon EF 135mm f/2.0L USM +3 more
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
ron purdy
Senior MemberPosts: 2,493Gear list
Like?
it works! and it's a lot faster.
In reply to Breitling, Nov 10, 2012

Installed Win8 last night - tethering with the 5D2 works like a charm!

And the whole thing is a lot faster and smoother than it was with Win7.

Def. a great upgrade for the current $69 price. Good job MS.

-- hide signature --

ron purdy dot com

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
wa2n
Forum MemberPosts: 99
Like?
Re: it works! and it's a lot faster.
In reply to ron purdy, Nov 10, 2012

EOS utility does not appear to be supported yet for Win 8 - it's a driver issue.  Win 8 loads a generic MTP driver and EOS utility can't see the camera (5d Mark iii or mark iii).

I installed Winxp on a virtual machine in Win8 and reinstalled the 10/26 software release of EOS utility, that works.

I've not used Lightroom capture before, but I did try it from win8 and it can't detect my mark iii either.

Has anyone else made this work?

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
ron purdy
Senior MemberPosts: 2,493Gear list
Like?
Re: it works! and it's a lot faster.
In reply to wa2n, Nov 10, 2012

re:"EOS utility does not appear to be supported yet for Win 8 - it's a driver issue. Win 8 loads a generic MTP driver and EOS utility can't see the camera (5d Mark iii or mark iii)."

====

As I wrote above, tethering using EOS Utility in Windows 8 works perfectly for the 5D2. Maybe you need to reinstall the apps?

P.S. I have read others who are now using EOS Utility to tether with their 5D3 without issues.

-- hide signature --

ron purdy dot com

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
ron purdy
Senior MemberPosts: 2,493Gear list
Like?
Re: it works! and it's a lot faster.
In reply to ron purdy, Nov 10, 2012

Note: I am using 32-bit Win8.

Have not tried 64-bit, so perhaps there is an issue with the 64-bit?

-- hide signature --

ron purdy dot com

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
wa2n
Forum MemberPosts: 99
Like?
Re: it works! and it's a lot faster.
In reply to ron purdy, Nov 10, 2012

Yep it might be a x64 issue.  I think the wrong driver is being loaded, the camera shows up in the device manager tree in "Portable Devices" branch along with portable hard drives etc.  It should show up in the Imaging devices branch.

Can you go to your device manager and see where yours shows up?  Also, right click on it and find the driver files that correspond to the 5d.

I also found this link, other guys are trying to sort this out too:

http://www.canonrumors.com/forum/index.php?topic=10820.0

My device manager on Windows 8 x64



Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Jovo
Veteran MemberPosts: 4,196Gear list
Like?
Re: it works! and it's a lot faster.
In reply to wa2n, Nov 11, 2012

I upgraded my laptop from win 7 64 to Win 8 64 and the latest version of EOS Utility works perfectly with the 5D MKII tethered to it. It was the first thing I checked as I use the Asus laptop only for tethering.

wa2n wrote:

Yep it might be a x64 issue. I think the wrong driver is being loaded, the camera shows up in the device manager tree in "Portable Devices" branch along with portable hard drives etc. It should show up in the Imaging devices branch.

Can you go to your device manager and see where yours shows up? Also, right click on it and find the driver files that correspond to the 5d.

I also found this link, other guys are trying to sort this out too:

http://www.canonrumors.com/forum/index.php?topic=10820.0

My device manager on Windows 8 x64



 Jovo's gear list:Jovo's gear list
Canon EF 400mm f/5.6L USM Sigma 150-500mm F5-6.3 DG OS HSM
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
ron purdy
Senior MemberPosts: 2,493Gear list
Like?
Re: it works! and it's a lot faster.
In reply to Jovo, Nov 11, 2012

Jovo wrote:

I upgraded my laptop from win 7 64 to Win 8 64 and the latest version of EOS Utility works perfectly with the 5D MKII tethered to it. It was the first thing I checked as I use the Asus laptop only for tethering.


Good to know Jovo.

Thanks.

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
ron purdy
Senior MemberPosts: 2,493Gear list
Like?
Re: it works! and it's a lot faster.
In reply to ron purdy, Nov 11, 2012

OK, I just installed Win8 64-bit (upgraded over Win7) on my other computer, and tethering is fine.
Thanks all.

-- hide signature --

ron purdy dot com

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
wa2n
Forum MemberPosts: 99
Like?
Re: it works! and it's a lot faster.
In reply to Jovo, Nov 11, 2012

Where does your camera show up in the device manager, and what drivers are loaded?

Tnx,Wayne

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
ron purdy
Senior MemberPosts: 2,493Gear list
Like?
Re: it works! and it's a lot faster.
In reply to wa2n, Nov 11, 2012

Under devices it says Canon EOS 5D Mark II

-- hide signature --

ron purdy dot com

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
wa2n
Forum MemberPosts: 99
Like?
Re: it works! and it's a lot faster.
In reply to ron purdy, Nov 11, 2012

ron purdy wrote:

Under devices it says Canon EOS 5D Mark II

-- hide signature --

ron purdy dot com

Is it in the imaging subsection, or portable devices?  I think my problem is that it's showing up in the "portable devices" section as if it was a memory card rather than a camera.  So windows probably loaded a generic device driver.

Also, if you could, right click on the Canon EOS Mark II icon and select properties, then the driver tab on top of the dialog.  Next, click the driver details.  A new dialog box will pop up that shows the actual drivers that are being used.  See mine below, looks like the MTP driver is being used, which I believe is a generic memory card kind of driver, rather than something from Canon.

I know this is a pain, thanks!

Wayne

Device drivers being used on my Win8 x64 system with EOS 5D Mark III that will not "connect" to EOSUtility

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
ron purdy
Senior MemberPosts: 2,493Gear list
Like?
Re: it works! and it's a lot faster.
In reply to wa2n, Nov 12, 2012

Just looked and my driver info is the same as what you posted here (MS)...

Have you tried uninstalling and reinstalling the Canon apps?

(Don't let the computer "install" the camera for you.

Also I noticed when I connect the camera a window pops up asking me "TAP TO CHOOSE WHAT HAPPENS WITH THIS DEVICE." I chose "TAKE NO ACTION." (maybe you chose download photos or something instead...)

-- hide signature --

ron purdy dot com

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
wa2n
Forum MemberPosts: 99
Like?
Re: it works! and it's a lot faster.
In reply to ron purdy, Nov 12, 2012

Yeah I tried uninstalling / reinstalling, no luck.  I did reload my old Win7 configuration in a virtual machine / Vmware on Win8 (pretty slick, for free none the less) and Win7 works fine.  The driver list looks similar, except the first driver shows a revision level (6.2.92) and says win8_rtm where the Win7 driver was older.

No big deal really since I can run EOSUtility from the virtual machine.  I already had installed a WinXP VM to make it work a couple weeks ago.  I figure there's enough people out there with the same problem that eventually Canon will fix it.

Thanks for looking at your drivers!

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Keyboard shortcuts:
FForum MMy threads