Best camera for interior photography?

Started Oct 15, 2012 | Discussions
aryayush
New MemberPosts: 2
Like?
Best camera for interior photography?
Oct 15, 2012

Hello.

I’m an interior designer from India and am looking to buy a DSLR for shooting before and after pictures of my projects. I am looking for a camera which is great at shooting in low light and a nice wide-angle lens to go with it. Support for a wide aperture range would be a nice bonus.

I’m a beginner, both with DSLR photography and interior design, so my budget is pretty low, and it would be nice to get some entry level—yet decent enough to not be a waste of money—suggestions.

I currently use a Canon PowerShot SX10 IS, and though it’s decent enough, I crave a little more control than it provides, as well as better low light and wide angle shooting.

Thanks.

vander
Senior MemberPosts: 2,157
Like?
Re: Best camera for interior photography?
In reply to aryayush, Oct 15, 2012

Full Frame is better, so I suggest something like a 5d, any of the 3 editions. If you are just getting into this I might suggest used. If you are only going to do interior you don't need to break the bank in new gear, so an older, well kept 5d (original) would be more than fine.

Some suggest a 24mm tilt shift is optimal, but with software out there (PTLens) you can skip getting that lens if you are willing to do some post processing.

I use a 17-40 F4 L lens for all my work.

Some say as wide as possible, some say 24mm, but I find 24mm is about the desired look for a room.

Also, decide if you want to do LDR (photo fusion) or use speedlites. Some use the hybrid method of both.

I primarily use the LDR method and Photomatix. I'm happy with the results. I have been experimenting with the hybrid method lately and once I refine that I will probably start doing that more.