YN565EX problem?

Started Oct 4, 2012 | Questions
james004
New MemberPosts: 8
Like?
YN565EX problem?
Oct 4, 2012

I am new to using an external flash. So I don't know what the problem is or if there is even a problem at all. I am using said flash with my T4i and the camera is not compensating for the flash. In other words ISO and shutter speed are the same as if the external flash was not being used. Is there a setting that could be off. Or is this how an external flash works?

FYI
ETTL is on

TIA

James

ANSWER:
This question has not been answered yet.
Canon EOS 650D (EOS Rebel T4i / EOS Kiss X6i)
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
jcochran
Contributing MemberPosts: 669Gear list
Like?
Re: YN565EX problem?
In reply to james004, Oct 4, 2012

If you set the ISO, Aperture, and Shutter Speed, then the flash intensity should be adjusted accordingly. Are you saying your flash is not making an appropriate intensity adjustment and your images are coming out under or over exposed?

-- hide signature --
 jcochran's gear list:jcochran's gear list
Canon EOS 5D Mark III Canon EOS 100D Panasonic Lumix DMC-G6 Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM +10 more
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
james004
Like?
In reply to jcochran, Oct 4, 2012

jcochran wrote:

If you set the ISO, Aperture, and Shutter Speed, then the flash intensity should be adjusted accordingly. Are you saying your flash is not making an appropriate intensity adjustment and your images are coming out under or over exposed?

-- hide signature --

I am saying that the camera exposure settings are not changing. In other words if the camera meters 1/40 shutter and 3200 iso without the flash on. Then you put the flash on and the settings will be the same. Then the exposure will be blown out. This is in AV or P mode.

james004
Like?
In reply to james004, Oct 4, 2012

I am giving this a bump since I do not see it in the Rebel talk forum.

James