How to take Moon pictures at sunset?

Started Sep 30, 2012 | Discussions
tim81786
Forum MemberPosts: 77Gear list
Like?
How to take Moon pictures at sunset?
Sep 30, 2012

Hello all! I am going to try and get some pictures of the full harvest moon tonight at sunset. I just got my T3i so I am still new to all the features and settings it has. What are some settings I can try to get some good pictures tonight? I only would use auto as a last resort since I am trying to learn not to use it lol. Any help will greatly be appreciated!
--
Canon EOS Rebel T3i
EFS 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II
EFS 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS II
Canon Pixma Pro 9000 MKII

tim81786's gear list:tim81786's gear list
Canon EOS 600D Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 II Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS II Rokinon 14mm f/2.8 IF ED MC Canon Pixma Pro9000 Mark II +3 more
Canon EOS 600D (EOS Rebel T3i / EOS Kiss X5)
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
photonius
Veteran MemberPosts: 6,109
Like?
Re: How to take Moon pictures at sunset?
In reply to tim81786, Oct 1, 2012

tim81786 wrote:

Hello all! I am going to try and get some pictures of the full harvest moon tonight at sunset. I just got my T3i so I am still new to all the features and settings it has. What are some settings I can try to get some good pictures tonight? I only would use auto as a last resort since I am trying to learn not to use it lol. Any help will greatly be appreciated!

Alas, this occasion may call for more than the all auto "green box" setting, because you may want a number of different exposures to get the best shot.