My first post. SX40 pictures

Started Aug 31, 2012 | Discussions
Moreau
New MemberPosts: 6
Like?
My first post. SX40 pictures
Aug 31, 2012

Hello everyone, I am new to this forum and new to the SX40 as well. I am a major amateur, and am just starting to learn about ISO and all the other camera lingo and what it all means.

I just thought I would share a couple recent pictures and see if anyone had any advice for me or what I could have done different? I am still finding that my shots are a bit on the fuzzy side, but I'm not sure what setting it is I need to change. And I keep forgetting to keep my darn fingers from being in front of that sensor on the front!

RoyAmatore
Contributing MemberPosts: 666Gear list
Like?
Re: My first post. SX40 pictures
In reply to Moreau, Sep 1, 2012

Hello there. The SX40 sure is fun, isn't it? The low shutter speeds listed in the settings info above your pics indicate that you were shooting in low light. That is responsible, I suspect, for the fuzziness in some of the images. You can get sharp pictures with very low shutter speeds with the SX40, but a lot of things have to go right. The images also appear somewhat overexposed to me. I would try minus 1/3 to 2/3 stops of exposure compensation. I almost always need it, and its easy to set with the wheel in the back of the camera. In my experience with the SX40, there is no substitute for good light, which affords high shutter speeds and low ISO's. One tip: you might try attaching a natural branch to the pole the bird is sitting on. The flowers make a beatiful setting, but the pole, like a feeder, is deadly to a nature photo.

In the shot below I had great light. I could shoot at 100 ISO and handhold the camera at 840mm. But, alas, I had to chop off the White-breasted Nuthatch's feet because of the ugly feeder. I have since replaced the feeder tray with branches.

Roy

RoyAmatore's gear list:RoyAmatore's gear list