E-M5 flare problems with Pany 7-14mm

Started Sep 2, 2012 | Discussions
Michael J Davis
Senior MemberPosts: 2,427Gear list
Like?
E-M5 flare problems with Pany 7-14mm
Sep 2, 2012

I have been using the Panny 7-14mm lens for 20 months with my Panasonic G1, with very satisfactory results. Of course the Panny camera corrects chromatic aberration.

Last Thursday, I was out with the E-M5 doing some interior architectural photography, and in one room in particular, (though it was apparent elsewhere), I got the problems shown:-

The first is a one quarter crop (top left hand corner) of a room in which the light sources were included in the shot.

The second, in the same room is a reduced whole frame where the lights are not visible in the frame:-

I am horrified with these results and wonder if it be the nature of the lighting (Mercury vapour perhaps?) - because I have no idea how to eliminate such results. Normal chromatic aberration techniques don't seem to work in this case (in some bracketed exposures the purple seems outside the gamut of the captured image.)

Obviously I didn't have my G1 with me to carry out a controlled test.

Any ideas, please?

Mike
--
Mike Davis
Photographing the public for over 50 years
http://www.flickr.com/photos/watchman

Michael J Davis's gear list:Michael J Davis's gear list
Panasonic Lumix DMC-G1 Olympus OM-D E-M5 Panasonic Lumix G Vario 14-45mm F3.5-5.6 ASPH OIS Panasonic Lumix G Vario 7-14mm F4 ASPH Panasonic Lumix G 20mm F1.7 ASPH +2 more
kermitG9
Contributing MemberPosts: 701
Like?
Lens flare is not CA !
In reply to Michael J Davis, Sep 2, 2012

You've correctly mentioned lens flare.. and then you change topic to talk about CA (?!). Both are totally unrelated from a "optical" perspective: Note that CA will manifest itself by colouring hard edges that show high contrast.

So CA correction would not have fixed it.. and your problem would have occured on your Pana camera too.

A question : Did you use any filter on your lens ?