EF-S vs EF lens

Started Aug 11, 2012 | Discussions
A pentaxian
New MemberPosts: 18
Like?
EF-S vs EF lens
Aug 11, 2012

Hi,

I am new to Canon DSLR and its lens system; I am changing my gears from Pentax to canon system. I will buy 7D soon;... I will switchover to full frame body later ..... the problem is I am not able to fix up which lens to buy ? .... EF-S series lens or EF full frame lens ? ....

..... as you understand that I wish to invest money for lenses, for 7D now, which I can use it later on full frame body ..... Is there any such option in Canon system ? ..... like in Nikon system, DX format lens can be used on FX format body in crop mode....

Please help ....
--
a pentaxian

Canon EOS 7D
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Collett
Senior MemberPosts: 4,987
Like?
Re: EF-S vs EF lens
In reply to A pentaxian, Aug 11, 2012

A pentaxian wrote:

Hi,

I am new to Canon DSLR and its lens system; I am changing my gears from Pentax to canon system. I will buy 7D soon;... I will switchover to full frame body later ..... the problem is I am not able to fix up which lens to buy ? .... EF-S series lens or EF full frame lens ? ....

..... as you understand that I wish to invest money for lenses, for 7D now, which I can use it later on full frame body ..... Is there any such option in Canon system ? ..... like in Nikon system, DX format lens can be used on FX format body in crop mode....

Nope, not to date. I was not aware Nikon had this. Nice feature. Best to stick with EF lenses if you are planning on switching to FF because they can be used on both body formats, while EF-S lenses cannot.

Please help ....
--
a pentaxian

-- hide signature --

Jim

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
misolo
Contributing MemberPosts: 835Gear list
Like?
In reply to A pentaxian, Aug 11, 2012