D800 - cannot get sharp images even in macro on non moving targets

Started Aug 8, 2012 | Discussions
Fastmikefree
Regular MemberPosts: 234
Like?
D800 - cannot get sharp images even in macro on non moving targets
Aug 8, 2012

Hi

I saw some very impressive macro photos from people on that forum that people clamed to take handheld!

Can someone please explain to me what I am doing wrong???

I am seeing those pictures taken handheld at F3 and iso 800. When I am trying on heavy tripod, with Nikon 105 2.8G Micro, and cannot get anything close to that even using liveview:

Cannot get anything sharper than that one that I am finding unsharp and soft... This is the neatest one from about 100 pics at different aperture/speed at a sunny day.

FYI my D800 and lenses went to Nikon services. To be honnest I am getting much sharper photos with my compact camera or any of my Canon SLR. As I am new to Nikon, I am still blaming myself and looking for advice but be very curious to find out on what is wrong.

Please provide with guidance on correct settings with that camera. I took those in AF-C S but tried many combination. I cannot get 'high speed' without increasing ISO much higher that values I am used to with my other SLRs.

Many thanks in advance emoticon - wink

Phil

Nikon D800
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
oldhouse
Contributing MemberPosts: 729
Like?
Re: D800 - cannot get sharp images even in macro on non moving targets
In reply to Fastmikefree, Aug 8, 2012

Hi Phil...
There are a lot of things (variables) to consider here.

In the post you first complained of this... The OP was shooting f/13 not f/3. But, also, the OP was using flash. This helps a LOT with handheld macro.

I think it would be helpful for us to see some of the pictures that didn't come out. That can help us figure what specifically happened.