A-57 or A-65?

Started Jul 23, 2012 | Discussions
jmac35
Forum MemberPosts: 92
Like?
A-57 or A-65?
Jul 23, 2012

I have read numerous threads discussing the differences between the two, with owners of each model weighing in.

The reason for the new thread is that my situation is slightly different. I own the NEX 5N and I'm looking to complement it with a more traditional-handling camera.

I'm leaning toward the A-57 but am beginning to think that it may be a bit redundant to have two cameras with the same sensor (NEX 5N).

Will the 24MP A-65 be a better choice?

A little info:

• I shoot mainly JPEGs for now, but am open to changing that

• I'm a golf writer and shoot lots on golf courses

• And I shoot day-to-day shots of my young daughter

I also own the LA-EA2 adapter and a few A-mount lenses but might ditch the adapter after this purchase.

Setter Dog
Veteran MemberPosts: 3,705
Like?
Re: A-57 or A-65?
In reply to jmac35, Jul 23, 2012

I've had my a57 for about two weeks only. I love everything about the camera, especially the Clear Image button. The ease of getting extra high quality zoom is a great feature for my purposes. My 55-200mm Sony kit lens has become very versatile.

I shoot JPEG only and never have to touch a picture from this camera. Well, almost never, once in awhile the flash shots indoors are not true to life due to reflections from flat furniture surfaces in the scene. The subjects, dogs mostly, are great.

The one thing I was curious about was the difference in the EVFs between the a57 and a65. I looked at these in a camera store and saw no difference, though I'm aware some people prefer the a65 OLED view.

I have several nice cameras and I find myself always wanting to pick up the a57.

Jack

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Smiller4128
Regular MemberPosts: 322Gear list
Like?
In reply to jmac35, Jul 23, 2012