Should I buy NEX-5N or wait for NEX-F5?

Started Jul 21, 2012 | Discussions
Kalabalik
Junior MemberPosts: 27Gear list
Like?
Should I buy NEX-5N or wait for NEX-F5?
Jul 21, 2012

I've been shooting with a Canon S95 for a 15 months and feel that my skills have matured enough to warrant an upgrade to a more capable system. Sony's NEX-5N looks like the ideal camera for me, but I've heard rumors about a successor (NEX-F5?) being released soon (this summer?).

So my question is simply, should I wait for the F5 or just get 5N? Will the F5 actually by released "soon"? Has it even been announced, or all the information we have based on leaks and rumors?

Kalabalik's gear list:Kalabalik's gear list
Sony Alpha NEX-5N Sony E 35mm F1.8 OSS
Knallberto
Senior MemberPosts: 5,478
Like?
Re: Should I buy NEX-5N or wait for NEX-F5?
In reply to Kalabalik, Jul 21, 2012

Should I be happy on Thursday or should I wait until Sunday?

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Myari
Regular MemberPosts: 441
Like?
In reply to Kalabalik, Jul 21, 2012

Kalabalik wrote:

So my question is simply, should I wait for the F5 or just get 5N? Will the F5 actually by released "soon"? Has it even been announced, or all the information we have based on leaks and rumors?

A lot of new things are coming. That is for sure. When? Photokina is in September. So it will be August or early September.

FuzzyQball
Senior MemberPosts: 1,328Gear list
Like?
In reply to Kalabalik, Jul 22, 2012

Take a look at the F3. Does it have any thing that you want that the 5n doesn't have? Is there anything you want that the 5n does not provide? There will always be new models in the offing. In the meantime you could be enjoying your new cam. You will be "blown away" by the image quality of the 5n. The next model will have some changes, but it won't be huge.
--
Glenn

FuzzyQball's gear list:FuzzyQball's gear list
Sony Alpha NEX-5N Sony E 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 OSS Sony E 55-210mm F4.5-6.3 OSS Sony E 16-50mm F3.5-5.6 PZ OSS
pcmechanic99