please help with mac video question

Started Jul 20, 2012 | Discussions
Berghof
Senior MemberPosts: 1,144
Like?
please help with mac video question
Jul 20, 2012

I'm a novice user of imac.The computer came loaded with imovie but this software doesn't do HD output. I'm not sure whether it would be best for me to buy imovie HD or would you recommend some other software .I'm interested mainly in editing home videos captured with my HD Panasonic camcorder.And yes, my budget is limited. Thank you for your help.
--
Berghof G.C.

Tom_N
Veteran MemberPosts: 8,435
Like?
Re: please help with mac video question
In reply to Berghof, Jul 20, 2012

If you just bought a new iMac (not a used one from several years ago), I'm pretty sure that the included version of iMovie would include support for editing HD files. What it might not handle is output to standard-definition DVD-Video (a job handled by the no-longer-included iDVD) or output to Blu-Ray. The iMovie blurb on Apple's Web site seems to assume that everyone wants to upload their final movie instead of getting hard copies.

If you are looking to burn Blu-Ray discs of home videos, you'll probably need to get an external Blu-Ray burner (the iMac's burner is for CDs and DVDs) and something like the most recent version of Toast. Another possibility might be the Mac version of Adobe Premiere Elements, but I forget what HD and disc-burning capabilities it has.

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Peter Rongsted
Senior MemberPosts: 1,641Gear list
Like?
In reply to Berghof, Jul 20, 2012

Berghof wrote:

I'm a novice user of imac.The computer came loaded with imovie but this software doesn't do HD output. I'm not sure whether it would be best for me to buy imovie HD or would you recommend some other software .I'm interested mainly in editing home videos captured with my HD Panasonic camcorder.And yes, my budget is limited. Thank you for your help.