60D - Canon 17-85mm vs. Tamron 17-50mm VC ?

Started Jul 13, 2012 | Discussions
Cyanide13
New MemberPosts: 1
Like?
60D - Canon 17-85mm vs. Tamron 17-50mm VC ?
Jul 13, 2012

Hi!

I'm a student in photography and I just bought a Canon 60D kit that came with a 17-85mm and a 55-250mm lens. I like the latter but I've read quite bad reviews about the 17-85mm... I've done a lot of research online and found the Tamron 17-50mm VC. I'd really like to start using my 60D but can't touch the 17-85mm if I want to resell it... Would it be worth it if I wait and try to sell it new to buy the Tamron lens? I mean, as a semi-beginner in photography will I really notice the difference between the two lenses? I don't really have a lot of money left so I can't buy the 17-50mm and sell the 17-85mm later.

Thanks

Canon EOS 60D
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
victorian squid
Senior MemberPosts: 1,826Gear list
Like?
Re: 60D - Canon 17-85mm vs. Tamron 17-50mm VC ?
In reply to Cyanide13, Jul 13, 2012

I own the 17-85. It's passable, and I still actually like it for a knock around lens. Huge barrel distortion at 17, and loads of CA. Fairly sharp, but nothing to write home to Mom about.

If money is an issue (and when is it not for a student?) you should take a look at the Tamron 17-50 f2.8 non VC lens. It's arguably sharper than the VC, and I've seen some here call it an L killer. Plus, the price is tough to beat.

http://www.photozone.de/canon-eos/289-tamron-af-17-50mm-f28-sp-xr-di-ii-ld-aspherical-if-canon-test-report--review
http://www.lenstip.com/index.html?test=obiektywu&test_ob=18

If you are considering that price range, then you should also look at the Sigma 17-50 f2.8 OS. I've got that lens, and it's fantastic. Sharp beyond all reason - and I think even better than the 17-55 which I've gotten to play with quite a bit. Golden copy? Maybe, but some reviews agree.

http://www.photozone.de/canon-eos/531-sigma1750f28os