canon 60D Vs 650D

Started Jun 21, 2012 | Discussions
Vobu
New MemberPosts: 2
Like?
canon 60D Vs 650D
Jun 21, 2012

Hi everyone, i am new to DSLR photography and wanted to buy one to learn photography. I would like to know experts opinion to choose between canon 60D and 650D considering the price of two models is almost same with basic kit lense.

Canon EOS 60D Canon EOS 650D (EOS Rebel T4i / EOS Kiss X6i)
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Guidenet
Forum ProPosts: 12,466Gear list
Like?
Re: canon 60D Vs 650D
In reply to Vobu, Jun 21, 2012

Vobu wrote:

Hi everyone, i am new to DSLR photography and wanted to buy one to learn photography. I would like to know experts opinion to choose between canon 60D and 650D considering the price of two models is almost same with basic kit lense.

There is a invisible line between what I call an entry level camera and the features they feel are important and an enthusiast or semi-pro camera and what is felt to be important there. Some of those things cross over, but many do not.

Entry Level

• mostly plastic construction

• minimal exterior controls to get in the way

• point and shoot upgrade feature set

• lots of training wheels like scene modes and various automatic settings

• funzy stuff like art filters, pano modes, built in HDR, digital zooms, etc

• penta-mirror viewfinder

• no top LCD

• one control dial

There are more, but that's the idea. They stick lots of funzy features on to lure the novice into a junk feature comparison against the competition for their not so useful junk features. All the entry level models are similar with the above like the Canon Rebels, Nikon D3100, D3200, D5100, Pentax Kr, and various Sony models.

Enthusiast Level cameras tend to have features a more seasoned photographer would insist on and less of the features at the entry level.

• Magnesium body panels or at least a metal frame (60D and Nikon D90 are lacking this)