Novice looking for feedback

Started Jun 13, 2012 | Discussions
jmcalgary
New MemberPosts: 4
Like?
Novice looking for feedback
Jun 13, 2012

i am pretty new to being out of automatic mode. I rented a canon EF 70-200 IS 2.8 and thought i would play with shutter speeds and a tripod. Any suggestions or feedback is greatly appreciated.

trekkeruss
Senior MemberPosts: 3,564
Like?
Re: Novice looking for feedback
In reply to jmcalgary, Jun 13, 2012

I'd either like to see them in portrait orientation mode, or with the subject to the left of center.

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
leno
Senior MemberPosts: 1,075Gear list
Like?
In reply to trekkeruss, Jun 13, 2012

Technically I would say well done. The framing could be tighter but a little croping would sort that. I would try to get a lower angle due to the hight of the subjects. Their eye level is what I would go for.

leno's gear list:leno's gear list
Olympus XZ-1 Nikon D5100 Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G VR Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 35mm f/1.8G +2 more
hotdog321
Veteran MemberPosts: 9,088
Like?

Exposure and focus is fine. I would say:

1. Shoot much tighter. Use that 200 and either shoot tight vertical full length or, ideally, even tighter horizontal waist up.

2. If you are going to shoot full length, watch the cropping (feet cut off in second shot.)

3. Work on timing. Eventually you will reliably get the shot just as the bat impacts (or misses) the ball.

jmcalgary
New MemberPosts: 4
Like?
In reply to hotdog321, Jun 13, 2012

Great tips everyone, thanks so much. When you say work on the height are you suggesting no tripod? I found the 70-200 pretty heavy, but i guess i would get used to it.

Alvatrus
Regular MemberPosts: 429
Like?

Shooting with such a heavy lens, you need a monopod/tripod, or you'll risk blurriness.