NX20 Initial Use Impressions Part 1 - General Comments

Started May 20, 2012 | Discussions
HankK
Regular MemberPosts: 389
Like?
NX20 Initial Use Impressions Part 1 - General Comments
May 20, 2012

NOTE: I am not a professional tester but life long prosumer and have owned the Canon 5Dm2, Fuji X100, and GH2 kit.

I shoot RAW only, sorry JPG'ers. I have been using the NX200 as my primary camera but felt I still needed a viewfinder. I had added a bubble level and Clearview finder to my NX200 to make up for the shortcomings. On the other hand I really have liked the images from the NX200 and I liked using the camera.

I received the NX20 on Friday afternoon. So the comments are based on one day of use. I will do this in parts and in the last part provide my first day overall opinion. I know everyone will want photos posted but I will have to see. I tried different lenses, my usual test landscape with buildings scenes, etc and can see no difference in image quality. See more of my comments in following parts.

General Notes

1. Compared to the NX200, the NX20 body is a bit larger and heavier than I was expecting (like a little brick). The NX20 feels well made, is nice to hold, and as a left hander the EVF is in a nice location. It will not fit (with the 30mm) in my present jacket pocket or my water bottle holder, the NX200 did fit and felt light enough to carry all the time. What a difference just a couple of millimeters and ounces make.

2. The EVF was what I was waiting for and I am satisfied, but not impressed like with the AMOLED display. It appears sharp enough, refresh rate seems acceptable (will need a bit more time to test the refresh), and gain-up in near darkness is good. I was hoping for a bit better EVF in 2012 but it is still good. I wear glasses and as usual it is a little difficult to get a full view of the EVF. I think this is because of the larger rubber opening protector. I have this problem with all viewfinders. So this is just a personal comment.