Best camera for close-up clarity.

Started May 19, 2012 | Discussions
SasQuatch9585
New MemberPosts: 1
Like?
Best camera for close-up clarity.
May 19, 2012

Hello,

I am in the beginning stages of starting a business selling hand-carved custom wooden jewelry. For my website, I need a camera that can take excellent close-up photos. I am an artist, but I have no serious photography experience.

I'm sure there are a lot of highly experienced photographers here. Can anyone point me toward a camera that can take great close-ups without costing me too much? I'm willing to make a serious investment if I must, but I will not be using the camera for much else, so I would like to avoid spending the money for a camera that can do it all.

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer.

trekkeruss
Senior MemberPosts: 3,559
Like?
Re: Best camera for close-up clarity.
In reply to SasQuatch9585, May 19, 2012

If you will be shooting images for web use, a point and shoot camera is fine. If you need poster sized images for printing, then you need a DSLR and a macro lens. For either, controlled lighting is crucial. See: http://www.tabletopstudio.com/HowTo_page.html

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
JoeDaBassPlayer
Veteran MemberPosts: 3,583
Like?
In reply to SasQuatch9585, May 19, 2012

The Pentax K 01 is the best close up/product photo camera I can think of.
--
Variance is Evil!

Barrie Davis
Forum ProPosts: 21,460
Like?
Lighting more important than the camera...
In reply to SasQuatch9585, May 20, 2012

no text.
--
Regards,
Baz

"Ahh... But the thing is, they were not just ORDINARY time travellers!"

Chato
Forum ProPosts: 43,499Gear list
Like?

SasQuatch9585 wrote:

Hello,

I am in the beginning stages of starting a business selling hand-carved custom wooden jewelry. For my website, I need a camera that can take excellent close-up photos. I am an artist, but I have no serious photography experience.