X-Pro1 can do Sports?

Started May 13, 2012 | Discussions
PG Thomas
Regular MemberPosts: 495Gear list
Like?
X-Pro1 can do Sports?
May 13, 2012

Well. If you zone focus.. And 6 f/sec helps.

These bikes were moving, and I was using aan old Tamron SP 100mm Macro.

First is cropped - the last full frame.

Pete

Moti
Veteran MemberPosts: 5,002
Like?
Re: X-Pro1 can do Sports?
In reply to PG Thomas, May 13, 2012

You can shoot nice sports photos with every camera. The issue is not the photos that you show here, but those you have missed because of inferior performance.

The indication is very simple. If you can accurately capture everything, ALL the time whenever you see it, then yes, the camera can do sports.

In any case, there are nice photos.

-- hide signature --
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
millsart
Senior MemberPosts: 2,771
Like?
Assuming one NEEDS to capture everything
In reply to Moti, May 13, 2012

I'm a sports photographer for a living and most of my clients wouldn't be too happy with me if I repeatedly missed game winning plays over and over.

Even with a D3s I still sometimes miss a shot, but I do get most of them.

HOWEVER, who's to say that if you shooting for your own personal enjoyment you need to get everything ?

When you go out for yourself do you even need to get one shot really ?

There is no creative services dept wanting 150+ files uploaded per event

There is no picture desk editor asking if you got a shot of

Its simply about having fun doing photography

Moti wrote:

You can shoot nice sports photos with every camera. The issue is not the photos that you show here, but those you have missed because of inferior performance.

The indication is very simple. If you can accurately capture everything, ALL the time whenever you see it, then yes, the camera can do sports.

-- hide signature --
flaxseedoil1000
Regular MemberPosts: 214
Like?
In reply to PG Thomas, May 13, 2012

Very well done!

What do you think your keeper rate was?

hellocrowley