Paintball Photography - Need help

Started May 11, 2012 | Discussions
Jaysun
Regular MemberPosts: 328
Like?
Paintball Photography - Need help
May 11, 2012

I'm new to sports photography. I have tons to learn and I realize these shots are mediocre. I also realize that I over-edited to make up for lack of quality. I'm looking for some input from some experienced sports photographers that may be able to offer some advice on this genre.

Thanks, in advance.

Gary_Scotland
Senior MemberPosts: 1,080
Like?
Re: Paintball Photography - Need help
In reply to Jaysun, May 11, 2012

Hello,

Sorry, but can't give you advice on this style of photography, but want to say that I really like your third photo (posted below). The reason it works for me is that you can tell 'exactly' what is going on in the scene by the 'expression' on the person's eyes. There is evidence of paint ball splashes behind so the viewer can understand what is happening. The surroundings 'frame' the person and the shallow DOF takes you to the main subject.

My only criticism is that I feel the processing has left the image a little flat, which is taking a little 'life' away from it, but easy to boost the curves a bit.

For me, this photo says so much more than any of the ones that are showing more surroundings. This is because I am a lover of a photo that has just enough information to stimulate the viewer's mind into forming their own 'understanding/interpretation' of what it is about. I have found that if someone is 'allowed to think' they tend to place more value on the photo. Hope that makes sense?

Regards,

Gary

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Thorbard
Contributing MemberPosts: 671Gear list
Like?

Aside from the over-editing, which you've picked up on anyway, I think this is a good effort. Paintball isn't exactly an easy or conventional sport to work with.