D3100 takes sharper photos than D7000?

Started May 9, 2012 | Discussions
RLV4422
New MemberPosts: 23Gear list
Like?
D3100 takes sharper photos than D7000?
May 9, 2012

I know there have been a LOT of discussions about D7000 focus issues. Trust me, I've read through them all. However, today is my last day to return this camera - and I thought this forum might be able to help me.

When I started shooting with my new D7000, I was amazed! Of course I was judging the images by the LCD screen on the camera. When I finally put them up on my large monitor... they were awful and blurry! So I checked all my setting again, changed lenses - and shot outdoors in bright sunlight. No matter what I do, they are always soft.

Last night I took two shots from a tripod - one with the D3100 and one with the D7000 - both using the same Manual settings, and the same 35MM 1.8 lens. The color on the D7000 was much better, but the image was much softer than the D3100.

I don't have examples right now - but I've tried everything. Is there possibly a setting or camera knowledge (operator error) missing from the equation? Ritz is willing to let me return it today for a full refund - and I think that for the cost, I'd like it to be slightly better than my D3100 No?
--

• Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing is going to get better... it's not!" - Dr. Suess

RLV4422's gear list:RLV4422's gear list
Nikon D3100 Nikon D7000 Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 35mm f/1.8G Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
RLV4422
Like?
Re: D3100 takes sharper photos than D7000?
In reply to RLV4422, May 9, 2012

I'd like to add, that I've seen many of your sample images - and mine are not turning out anywhere near as clear.

-- hide signature --

• Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing is going to get better... it's not!" - Dr. Suess

Nikon D3100 Nikon D7000 Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 35mm f/1.8G Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain