GF-1 user - upgrade body, lens or wait?

Started May 4, 2012 | Discussions
ZacsDad
Junior MemberPosts: 27
Like?
GF-1 user - upgrade body, lens or wait?
May 4, 2012

Greetings! I've been shooting with GF-1 for a since early 2010. I mostly use the camera for general family shots and as a walk-around camera. I almost exclusively shoot with the 20mm -- but also have the 14-45mm kit lens and the 45-200 zoom.

My real reasons to consider upgrading is I feel like I keep missing shots due to slow auto-focus. I love the images I get out of the camera (I shoot some RAW but mostly jpeg -- and like the Panasonic jpeg look). I also hate the lack of viewfinder but recently ordered a LVF1 to see if that helps.

I'm not a real photo gearhead -- but would make the jump to upgrade (either camera body or lens) it if will really help. So, what does the DPReview Brain Trust recommend and what upgrades make sense?

secretworld
Contributing MemberPosts: 861Gear list
Like?
Re: GF-1 user - upgrade body, lens or wait?
In reply to ZacsDad, May 4, 2012

Gains will be minimal! Yes the 20mm is a little slow to focus, but also on newer cams. You could try manual focus with it, there are many situations where that is doable, like when spying on playing kids..

The 14mm 2.5 is a very fast focuser, that might work and if you do a search in can be had cheaply.

secretworld's gear list:secretworld's gear list
Panasonic Lumix DMC-GH2 Fujifilm X-E1 Olympus PEN E-PM2 Panasonic Lumix G Vario 14-45mm F3.5-5.6 ASPH OIS Panasonic Lumix G Vario 7-14mm F4 ASPH +5 more
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Marc
Regular MemberPosts: 231Gear list
Like?

I'm in the same position and I'm upgrading to an E-M5. I know the 20mm might not be that much faster but I also have the O45 which should be very fast indeed.

Marc's gear list:Marc's gear list
Canon PowerShot S30 Canon EOS D30 Panasonic Lumix DMC-GF1 Olympus OM-D E-M5 Canon EF 28-105mm f/4.0-5.6 USM +10 more
jeffharris
Veteran MemberPosts: 4,025Gear list
Like?