Sigma 19mm f2.8 or Panasonic 20mm f1.7

Started May 3, 2012 | Discussions
Bruadair
Junior MemberPosts: 45
Like?
Sigma 19mm f2.8 or Panasonic 20mm f1.7
May 3, 2012

Would mainly be used for street photography and some, though not too much, night photography on the streets of India, things like street food vendors and the such.

I'm new to lenses but gather that a full stop difference may mean a lot. But considering that the Sigma is half the price of the Panasonic ($200 vs $400) I have to ask, is the Panasonic significantly better to justify the extra $200?

Thanks again,

D.

-- hide signature --
Aleo Veuliah
Forum ProPosts: 14,455Gear list
Like?
Re: Panasonic (nt)
In reply to Bruadair, May 3, 2012
-- hide signature --

Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication.

God is the tangential point between zero and infinity.

Imagination is more important than knowledge.

God always take the simplest way.

Aleo Veuliah's gear list:Aleo Veuliah's gear list
Panasonic Lumix DMC-ZS1 Panasonic Lumix DMC-GF1 Panasonic Lumix DMC-G2 Nikon 1 V3 Panasonic Lumix G Vario 14-45mm F3.5-5.6 ASPH OIS +3 more
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
SkiHound
Senior MemberPosts: 1,018
Like?
Re: Sigma 19mm f2.8 or Panasonic 20mm f1.7
In reply to Bruadair, May 3, 2012

One of the pluses of fixed focal length lenses is that they are often faster (wider apertures) than zooms. Often much faster and thus are very useful in low light. The Panny is over 1 stop faster than the Sigma. 1-stop would be the difference between shooting at 1/15 versus 1/30 which may mean the difference between a sharp photo and a blur. I know the Sigma 30mm got a pretty good review for it's optics, I know nothing about the quality of the 19mm. I just think if you're going to go for a fixed focal length lens in that range you might as well go for one that gives areal benefit in low light, and that would be the Panny.

intruder61
Senior MemberPosts: 2,494Gear list
Like?
In reply to Bruadair, May 4, 2012