D800E - which primes?

Started Apr 27, 2012 | Discussions
AlephNull
Contributing MemberPosts: 715Gear list
Like?
D800E - which primes?
Apr 27, 2012

I have a D800E. First lens I bought was the 85mm f/1.4G (despite the comments on a certain page!) - it works well for me. Looking for thoughts on other lenses I might want.

Background: I've shot Canon for a long time, and I currently have 1Ds III + 1D IV, with every L prime from 24mm to 200mm (including the heavy 200/2 and 180mm macro). When the 1D X was delayed AGAIN, I thought about what I really wanted, and the thing I really wanted was more resolution. Hence the D800E (I have used the Leica M9, so I am happy with no AA).

In other words, I have no existing glass, but I'm not a beginner

The lenses I use most on Canon are the 85/1.2, 50/1.2, and 135/2. I like primes and I like shallow depth of field. I need auto-focus (my eyes won't let me focus manually - I've tried!) - so Zeiss lenses are no use to me.

The 85/1.4G happily fulfills my first want.

From what I have read, there isn't a 50mm lens that's "good enough" for the D800E, so I may have to settle for the 24-70. Not a fan of zooms, but this one might suit.

What about a longer lens? I tried the 135 DC in the shop, but I don't like it - it feels like a really old design, and I don't want the DC effect. One suggestion I came across on LL was the Sigma 150mm f/2.8 OS macro - the reviewer comparing D800 vs D800E suggested it was very sharp and well up to the resolution. Thoughts?

AlephNull's gear list:AlephNull's gear list
Sony RX100 II Nikon D800E
Canon EOS-1D Canon EOS-1D X Canon EOS-1Ds Nikon D800 Nikon D800E
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
mastertrimix
Forum MemberPosts: 88Gear list
Like?
Re: D800E - which primes?
In reply to AlephNull, Apr 27, 2012

After the Nikon 85 1.4 I would get in this order.

Zeiss 21mm or Nikon 24 1.4---or maybe Nikon 35 f1.4
Zeiss 100mm or Nikon 105 macro