Help in a tragedy or take photos?

Started Apr 20, 2012 | Discussions
gail
Forum ProPosts: 13,249Gear list
Like?
Help in a tragedy or take photos?
Apr 20, 2012

I am not a pro and rarely even take a peek in this forum. However ever since reading the blub at dpreview, and at other sites, about the 2012 Pulitzer Prize photography winners, the following has haunted me. Does one take photographs or help (and possibly save a life)?

One of the winners was quoted as saying:

Women were asking me, "Help, help, help,"' Mr. Hossaini said. 'I couldn't. I was recording and I was taking pictures.'

Source: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2131084/Pulitzer-Prize-winners-2012-Picture-screaming-girl-standing-amid-Afghan-suicide-attack-carnage.html#ixzz1sZxyAM1S

gail's gear list:gail's gear list
Canon PowerShot SD700 IS Canon PowerShot S90 Canon PowerShot S100 Canon EOS M
FoolyCooly
Veteran MemberPosts: 3,457Gear list
Like?
Graphic Link
In reply to gail, Apr 20, 2012

As a father, it's going to take me all day to unsee that image.

Regarding the photographer, I think he served a greater good by continuing to do his job. Photos like these move people and force politicians to take action. If he did not deliver those images to publication than we would never know exactly how horrific the event was.

Also, not every one is trained in first aid, CPR and etc. He could have done more harm than good. When things like this happen people do some pretty silly things that end up hurting the people they are helping. My brother in-law is a police officer so he gets to witness some of this first hand.

FoolyCooly's gear list:FoolyCooly's gear list
Canon EOS 5D Mark II Nikon D300 Nikon D7000 Olympus PEN E-PL5 Canon EOS 6D
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
dad_of_four
Veteran MemberPosts: 7,279Gear list
Like?
Re: Help in a tragedy or take photos?

There's an old question that goes something like this: