Dog Photos with EPM-1

Started Apr 18, 2012 | Discussions
sarabrianne86
New MemberPosts: 5
Like?
Dog Photos with EPM-1
Apr 18, 2012

Hello! I'm a beginner looking to get some nice shots of my dog (among other things). I have the EPM-1 with the kit lens and I was wondering if anyone could suggest some settings that I should try to get ideal photos (inside and out).

Also, should I be using a different lens, or should the kit lens be adequate?

I plan on trying to find some kind of photography course when after I take the bar exam in July, but I'd love some help in the meantime. Thanks!

Bitslizer
Regular MemberPosts: 332
Like?
Re: Dog Photos with EPM-1
In reply to sarabrianne86, Apr 18, 2012

Dog move around quickly, if using pre-set mode try the sport or kids mode, other wise go for Shutter priority mode 1/250 or even faster to keep them from becoming blurry due to motion. Bump the auto iso up to 3200 upper limit if indoor.

The kids lens should be adequate to get you started

Don't be afraid to lay down or crawl to get a different perspective for a good shot. You can also set your lens to the wide angle end and stick the camera right in their face for some interesting shots, assuming they let you

sarabrianne86 wrote:

Hello! I'm a beginner looking to get some nice shots of my dog (among other things). I have the EPM-1 with the kit lens and I was wondering if anyone could suggest some settings that I should try to get ideal photos (inside and out).

Also, should I be using a different lens, or should the kit lens be adequate?

I plan on trying to find some kind of photography course when after I take the bar exam in July, but I'd love some help in the meantime. Thanks!

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
sarabrianne86
Like?
In reply to Bitslizer, Apr 18, 2012