Which medium sized TTL flash?

Started Apr 13, 2012 | Discussions
Timur Born
Senior MemberPosts: 3,751
Like?
Which medium sized TTL flash?
Apr 13, 2012

Since I am new to the whole mFT thing: Is there any SB-400 style TTL flash that One should buy for the EM-5? The upcoming FL-600 looks a bit huge and the FL-300 is not even fully tilt-able (and ugly)?!

Are there non Olympus options I should know about?

Thanks in advance for any answers.

Michael Meissner
Forum ProPosts: 23,048Gear list
Like?
Re: Which medium sized TTL flash?
In reply to Timur Born, Apr 13, 2012

Timur Born wrote:

Since I am new to the whole mFT thing: Is there any SB-400 style TTL flash that One should buy for the EM-5? The upcoming FL-600 looks a bit huge and the FL-300 is not even fully tilt-able (and ugly)?!

I have no idea what a SB-400 style flash looks like.

I have a list of flashes that claim to support Olympus and Panasonic cameras here:
http://www.the-meissners.org/olympus-flash2.html

It is probably out of date, as new clone flashes come on the scene from time to time, and others vanish.

The FL-600R isn't that big, compared to other flashes like the FL-50R. I use a FL-36 on my E-P2 and it is about as large of a flash as I would want to use on a daily basis. My larger Metz 48 (and FL-50 before I dropped it) make the camera way too top heavy for my tastes. I believe the FL-600R is about the same size as the FL-36R, but it takes 4 AA batteries instead of 2, and it provides a video light instead of the focus assist light (micro 4/3rds cameras won't use the auto focus light on the flash).

If you need very light weight/size, I would probably think about the FL-300R.

Otherwise, my vote might go to:

• Cactus AF50

• Olympus FL-600R

• Olympus FL-36R

For flashes that might be cheaper, but omit one or more desirable features:

• Nissan Di466 -- Does not do FP-TTL (high speed sync), or Tilt

• used FL-36 -- Does not do remote TTL flash with Olympus cameras