5DM3 VF display illumination

Started Apr 12, 2012 | Discussions
kpz4ever
Junior MemberPosts: 33
Like?
5DM3 VF display illumination
Apr 12, 2012

Good evening!

Does somebody know how to enable the VF display illumination on the the 5DM3? According to handbook it's in the AF5 setting and I got it activated there. Still it is not working when using the camera in any other mode than green.

Thanks!
Stefan

Canon EOS 5D
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Dylthedog
Contributing MemberPosts: 692Gear list
Like?
Re: 5DM3 VF display illumination
In reply to kpz4ever, Apr 12, 2012

Mine only flashes red when the subject is below a certain light level - maybe you're trying it in bright conditions?

 Dylthedog's gear list:Dylthedog's gear list
Canon EOS 5D Mark II Olympus PEN E-P1 Canon EOS 5D Mark III Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM +8 more
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
kpz4ever
Junior MemberPosts: 33
Like?
Re: 5DM3 VF display illumination
In reply to Dylthedog, Apr 12, 2012

Nope. Bright light is not the issue, I basically need it under bad light conditions. It's hard to see what you are aiming at when the focus point is black

Thanks!
Stefan

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Bartek
Senior MemberPosts: 1,408Gear list
Like?
Re: 5DM3 VF display illumination
In reply to kpz4ever, Apr 12, 2012

should flash automatically, try resetting the settings to be sure that you didn't set anything by mistake - lots of options there

Good news is that it flashes at the green zone so not hardware failure probably - sounds rather like wrong settings
--
Bartek

 Bartek's gear list:Bartek's gear list
Canon EOS-1Ds Mark III Canon EOS 5D Mark III
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Dylthedog
Contributing MemberPosts: 692Gear list
Like?
Re: 5DM3 VF display illumination
In reply to kpz4ever, Apr 12, 2012

It's not illuminated by default - it remains black until you get focus, and it only then flashes red when the light is below a certain level.

A few people have complained about that.

The workaround is to press the focus point move button to change points then it illuminates. Or just remember where you left it

kpz4ever wrote:

Nope. Bright light is not the issue, I basically need it under bad light conditions. It's hard to see what you are aiming at when the focus point is black

Thanks!
Stefan

 Dylthedog's gear list:Dylthedog's gear list
Canon EOS 5D Mark II Olympus PEN E-P1 Canon EOS 5D Mark III Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM +8 more
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Alfonso Bresciani
Senior MemberPosts: 1,622
Like?
Re: VF display illumination and af confirm is BAD
In reply to Dylthedog, Apr 13, 2012

Is THE ONLY thing I hate about the mIII and I even wrote to Chuck Westfall

that a $3500 camera should have a way better af illumination system, you can hardly see it turning red in bright light, and the smearing of the red light all over the VF is disgusting and distracting!
--
Alfonso Bresciani
==================
http://nolaPIC.com/
http://www.pompo.com
http://www.flickr.com/photos/pompob/

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Edymagno
Senior MemberPosts: 2,798Gear list
Like?
Re: VF display illumination and af confirm is BAD
In reply to Alfonso Bresciani, Apr 13, 2012

I think diglloyd reported it as a total screw up.
Eduardo

Alfonso Bresciani wrote:

Is THE ONLY thing I hate about the mIII and I even wrote to Chuck Westfall

that a $3500 camera should have a way better af illumination system, you can hardly see it turning red in bright light, and the smearing of the red light all over the VF is disgusting and distracting!
--
Alfonso Bresciani
==================
http://nolaPIC.com/
http://www.pompo.com
http://www.flickr.com/photos/pompob/

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Alfonso Bresciani
Senior MemberPosts: 1,622
Like?
Re: VF display illumination and af confirm is BAD
In reply to Edymagno, Apr 13, 2012

I sure hope the 1DX won't have this cr@p viewfinder illumination!
--
Alfonso Bresciani
==================
http://nolaPIC.com/
http://www.pompo.com
http://www.flickr.com/photos/pompob/

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
kpz4ever
Junior MemberPosts: 33
Like?
Re: 5DM3 VF display illumination
In reply to Bartek, Apr 13, 2012

Yeah, did the reset. It works now, but I have no idea what I did wrong in the first place

Thanks!
Stefan

Bartek wrote:

should flash automatically, try resetting the settings to be sure that you didn't set anything by mistake - lots of options there

Good news is that it flashes at the green zone so not hardware failure probably - sounds rather like wrong settings
--
Bartek

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
kpz4ever
Junior MemberPosts: 33
Like?
Re: 5DM3 VF display illumination
In reply to kpz4ever, Apr 15, 2012

Hi all!

I actually found it. AF illumination does not work in AI SERVO...no idea why. switching to ONE SHOT or AI FOCUS solves it. Makes no sense, but yeah

Thanks!
Stefan

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
24Peter
Senior MemberPosts: 2,990
Like?
Re: 5DM3 VF display illumination
In reply to kpz4ever, Apr 15, 2012

kpz4ever wrote:

Hi all!

I actually found it. AF illumination does not work in AI SERVO...no idea why. switching to ONE SHOT or AI FOCUS solves it. Makes no sense, but yeah

AFAIK - There's no AF illumination in AI Servo on any Canon DSLR - at least not on my 5DII, 60D, 40D, Rebel XT

-- hide signature --

View my photo galleries here: http://imageevent.com/24peter
Model Mayhem: http://www.modelmayhem.com/93181

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
shooter00
Regular MemberPosts: 305
Like?
Re: 5DM3 VF display illumination
In reply to 24Peter, Apr 15, 2012

24Peter wrote:

AFAIK - There's no AF illumination in AI Servo on any Canon DSLR - at least not on my 5DII, 60D, 40D, Rebel XT

Don't know about earlier 1D models but it is a feature of the MKIII and IV and works in AI servo.
There's a Cf.n to adjust it....

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Keyboard shortcuts:
FForum MMy threads